Thursday, October 20, 2011

Striped Bass Future To Be Decided November 8 in Boston

I understand that the expedited striped bass stock assessment came in as “no change”. Not surprising considering where it is coming from. So, the big fight at ASMFC’s annual meeting in Boston on November 8, 2011 – 8:00 AM – Striped Bass Management Board ( is going to see quiet a few Northeast anglers attending to support a mortality reduction. The insider, tea leaf readers believe the vote is going to be very close for a 50% reduction in rec. and 40% reduction in commercial harvest. ASMFC Commissioners from R.I. and CT. ( in particular need to hear from people that believe the reductions are necessary. If there are any people in both of those states who can roust out some political pressure very soon, it would help. I can’t express the urgency of being involved at this point. It is my opinion that the already in progress striped bass crash will be accelerated to an unknown consequence.The recent announcement of a wonderful YOY hatch in the Chessy system is wonderful news but won't help our fishing for at least five years. We need mortality reduction now.

The Maine Association of Charter Captains (MACC) has hired and filled a 12 passenger van to go to the meeting. I understand that there are people making the trip from R.I.,Cape Ann, Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard to support a reduction. A few more van or car loads will jam the place. Let me know if you need some stickers MACC is having made up to show support. A rough count for extra stickers for all would be helpful.

If you can get up at 3 AM all season long to go fishing, being at an 8 AM meeting is a walk in the park. See you all there.

Here's a state by state list of ASMFC Commissioners to contact:


Patrick C. Keliher

Department of Marine Resources
21 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0021 Phone: 201/287-9972

Patten D. White

Po Box 1008
York Harbor, Maine 03911
Phone: 207/229-5449

Senator Brian Langley

11 South Street
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone: 207/667-0625

Douglas E. Grout

225 Main Street
Durham, NH 03824
Phone: 603/868-1096
FAX: 603/868-3305

G. Ritchie White

30 Lang Road
Rye, NH 03870
Phone: 603/964-2211

Rep. David H. Watters

19 Maple Street
Dover, NH 03820
Phone: 603/862-3983

Paul J. Diodati, Vice-Chair

251 Causeway Street, #400
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617/626-1530
FAX: 617/626-1509

William A. Adler

Massachusetts Lobstermen's Association
PO Box 397
Green Harbor, MA 02041
Phone: 781/545-6984
FAX: 781/545-7837

Representative Sarah K. Peake

State House
Room 473F
State House
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617/722-2210

Robert Ballou

RI Fish and Wildlife Division, DEM
3 Fort Wetherill Road
Jamestown, RI 02835
Phone: 401/423-1926
FAX: 401/423-1925

William A. McElroy

3229 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879

Representative Peter F. Martin

1 1/2 Willow Street
Newport, RI 02840-1917
Phone: 401/924-2402

CT David G. Simpson
CT Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection, Marine Fisheries
333 Ferry Road
PO Box 719
Old Lyme, CT 06371
Phone: 860/434-6043
FAX: 860/434-6150

Dr. Lance Stewart

P.O. Box 177
Coventry, CT 06238-0177
Phone: 860/884-7220

Representative Craig A. Miner

House Republican Office
L.O.B. Room 4200
Hartford, CT 01606
Phone: 860/842-1423
FAX: 860/240-0207

James J. Gilmore, Jr.

NYSDEC, Marine Resources
205 North Belle Mead Road
East Setauket, NY
Phone: 631/444-0433
FAX: 631/444-0434

Pat Augustine

25 Stuart Drive
Coram, NY 11727
Phone: 631/928-1524
FAX: 631/928-3540

Senator Owen H. Johnson

23-24 Argyle Square
Babylon, NY 11702
United States
Phone: 631/669-9200

David Chanda

Mail Code 501-03
PO BOX 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420
Phone: 609/292-2965
FAX: 609/292-8207

Thomas P. Fote

22 Cruiser Court
Toms River, NJ 08753-6246
Phone: 732/270-9102
FAX: 732/506-6409

Assemblyman Nelson T. Albano

1028 East Landis Avenue
Vineland, NJ 08360-4041
Phone: 856/696-7109
FAX: 856/696-7159

John A. Arway

PA Fish & Boat Commission
1601 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9299
Phone: 717/705-7801

Loren W. Lustig

795 Stone Jug Road
Biglerville, PA 17307-9790
Phone: 410/386-2103
FAX: 410/876-8282

Rep. Curt Schroder

Pennsylvania House of Representatives
315 Gordon Drive
Exton, PA 19341
Phone: 610/524-5595
FAX: 610/524-5667

David E. Saveikis

DE Division of Fish and Wildlife
89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 1990l

Roy W. Miller

31421 Melloy Court
Lewes, DE 19958-3863
Phone: 302/645-7103

Senator Robert L. Venables, Sr.

116 Hearn Avenue
Laurel, DE 19956
Phone: (302)744-4298
FAX: (302)739-6890

Thomas O'Connell

580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410/260-8281
FAX: 410/260-8278

William J. Goldsborough

Chesapeake Bay Foundation
6 Herndon Avenue
Annaplois, MD 21403
Phone: 410/268-8816

Senator Richard F. Colburn

James Senate Office Building, Room 315
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis , MD 21401-1991
Phone: 410/841-3590
FAX: 410/841-3087

Steven G. Bowman

2600 Washington Avenue, Third Floor
Newport News, VA 23607-4317
Phone: 757/247-2278
FAX: 757/247-2020

Catherine W. Davenport

1005 Poplar Neck Road
White Stone, VA 22578
Phone: 804/435-2173

Senator Richard H. Stuart

Senate of Virginia
P.O. Box 1146
Montross, VA 22520
Phone: 804/493-8892
FAX: 804/493-8897

Louis Daniel, Ph.D.

3441 Arendell Street
PO BOX 769
Morehead City, NC 28557-0769
Phone: 252/726-7021
FAX: 252/726-0254

Willard W. Cole, Jr.

406 Penrose Court
Greensboro, NC 27410-3114
Phone: 336/294-3919

Rep. William L. Wainwright

NC House of Representatives
300 North Salisbury Street, Room 613
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919/733-5995

John E. Frampton

PO Box 167
Columbia, SC 29202
Phone: 803/734-4007
FAX: 803/734-6310

Dr. Malcolm Rhodes

7 Guerard Road
Charleston, SC 29407
Phone: 843/556-4731
FAX: 843/571-2787

Chair, ASMFC Governors' Appointees

Robert H. Boyles, Jr., Chair

PO Box 12559
Charleston, SC 29422-2559
Phone: 843/953-9304
FAX: 843/953-9159

A.G. "Spud" Woodward

One Conservation Way, Suite 300
Brunswick, GA 31520
Phone: 912/264-7218
FAX: 912/262-3143

John Duren

8 Calico Crab Retreat
Savannah, GA 31411-3015
Phone: 912/598-9362
FAX: 912/598-7966

Rep. Jon G. Burns
Georgia General Assembly
Chair, Game, Fish and Parks Committee
State Capitol, Room 228
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: 404/656-5099
Fax: 404/656-6897

Jessica McCawley

Division of Marine Fisheries Management
2590 Executive Center Circle E, Suite 201
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: 850/487-0580 Ext. 217
Fax: 850/487-4847

William R. Orndorf

1950 Palomino Road
Melbourne, FL 32934

Senator Thad Altman

Florida Senate, District 24
6767 N. Wickham Road, Suite 211
Melbourne, FL 32940
Phone: 321/752-3138